Low drugs-yield COPs warned

Three police chiefs are given one week more to comply with Oplan Double Barrel, namely, PCIns George Badon of the Catalina Police Station, PInsp Edward Cañete of the Basay Police station, PInsp Jose Cañafuego of the Tayasan police station, or be relieved of their respective posts.

These police stations may have submitted names of surrendereees but they have zero accomplishments on the implementation of search warrants, buy bust operations, police responses as well as neutralizing drug personalities in their respective areas of jurisdictions.

Meanwhile, as of Aug 6, 2016, the provincial command has so far cause the voluntary surrender of 10,323 drug users, 416 of whom are pushers with 71 arrests and the neutralization of three individuals who resisted arrest and tried to fire at law enforcers, according to Attorney and PO3 Darlene Catacutan, NORPPO spokesperson.

She said the command has neutralized Lito Belandres while the police was serving the search warrant in his residence in Purok Orchids, Sitio Canday-ong, Calindagan in Dumaguete at the start of Operation Tokhang. Also killed is Franz Hope Ingan of Bayawan City and Ferry Saloma of Tanjay City.

The Negros Oriental Provincial Police Office (NOPPO) has clarified published reports (not this paper) it sacked six OIC chiefs of police in the porvince for failure to implement Operation Tokhang in their respective police stations.

NORPPO deputy provincial director for administration PSupt Reynold Andot said the six were relieved because their respective local chief executives wanted a chief of police of their choices.

Andot identified the six police officers who were relieved from their posts last week as Bayawan city OIC chief PSupt Dominiciano Distrito Jr., who is being replaced by newly downloaded police officer from the region PSupt. Melchor Agusin, Tanjay city OIC chief of police PSupt Resty Santos who is being replaced by PSupt Bonifacio Tecson, OIC Bais City police chief PCInsp Ronilo Macasilhig being replaced by PCIns Alvin Futalan, Zamboanguita OIC police chief PSI Enrique Asonio is being replaced by PCIns Rolando Asidoy, San Jose OIC chief PSInsp Elpidio Tagoan Jr is being replaced by PInsp Blas Alpeche and Pamplona PSIns Antonio Jabar who is being replaced by PInsp John Lynbert Yango after having served as OIC chief of police for two years. (By Choy Gallarde)

Comment Box is loading comments...