275 new officials swear to serve

Some 275 newly elected local government officials from the three congressmen, 5 city mayors, 20 municipal mayors and their respective councilors formally assumed office after taking their oaths separately after noontime of Friday June 30. Some took their oaths earlier.

The new city government led by balik-Mayor Antonio Felipe IPE Remollo after taking their oaths noontime of Friday, immediately went to work and met with PNP city chief of police Col Jovey Atanacio and staff.


Mayor Remollo relayed to him and his command the marching orders of President Duterte to prioritize the stoppage of the drug menace, pinpoint its drug sources, and gave an update on suspects on many unsovled city street killings.

Remollo said he wants to prioritize the drug-supplier and source over and above the minor pushers and users.


Gov. Roel Degamo meanwhile, took his oath for the second time, as he formally took his oath before Regional Trial Court Executive Judge Gerardo Paguio Jr, after a mass at 9:30, Friday in the morning at the Negros Oriental Convention Center, even as the governor had already taken his oath of office earlier before a barangay captain in his hometown Bonawon, Siaton last June 14, 2016 at the height of the controversy of his dismissal by the Ombudsman.

Separately at the Legislative House beside the capitol building, Vice Gov. Edward Mark Macias took his oath of office before RTC Branch 38 Judge Cenon Voltaire Repollo along with congressman- elect Manuel Sagarbarria.


At city hall’s Legislative Hall, Dumaguete City mayorelect Felipe Antonio Remollo took his oath of office before the village chief of Piapi, the most senior among the punong barangays in Dumaguete, Tomasa Amor, after which he administered the oath taking of the ten council members.

They are: Atty. Alan Gel Cordova, Atty. Karissa Faye Tolentino, Tentio Perdices, Estanislao Alviola, reelecdted councilor Jose Victor Imbo, Atty. Joe Kenneth Arbas, reelected councilor Lilani Ramon, Atty. Michael Bandal, Atty. Manny Arbon and Calindagan village chief Chaco Sagarbarria.


Joining them were three board members namely, Mariant Escaño Villegas, Rommel Erames and Nilo Sayson. Two other party members, namely, Dr. Jovencio Bumanglag and Regalado Salma Jr., newly elected councilor of Tanjay City also took their oath of office before Judge Repollo.


Degamo likewise administered the oath of office of comebacking board member Atty Arturo Umbac and Zamboanguita Mayor Kit Marc Adanza who won as board member in the third district.

Newly and reelected mayors allied with Degamo were also expected to come, namely, Basay Mayor Beda Cañamaque, Sta. Catalina Mayor Nathan Electona, Mayor Fritz Diaz of Siaton, Mayor Nelson Ruiz of San Jose, Ayungon Mayor Edsel Enardecido, Jimalalud Mayor Dodoy Tuanda, Canlaon City Mayor Jimmy Clerigo, and several council members.

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...