2,500 athletes at UNIGAMES here

For the 4th time, the city of Dumaguete and Province of Negros Oriental will host the Philippine University Games that will be participated by almost 2, 500 athletes and sports officials from 53 colleges and universities across the country on October 23-30, 2016.

Mayor Felipe Antonio “Ipe” Remollo, in a recent meeting with the Board of Directors, has accepted the terms of the Memorandum of Agreement that will define and delineate the roles and responsibilities of the organizers to ensure an exciting and highly successful 21st edition of the annual collegiate sports competitions founded in 1996 at the University of St. La Salle –Bacolod.

UNIGAMES Deputy Chairman Dr. Dinno T Depositario said that there are enough accommodations and facilities capable to host all the athletes and technical officials competing in at least 10 sports disciplines namely: athletics, badminton, basketball, chess, football, sepak takraw, table tennis, taekwondo, volleyball and beach volleyball.

Dumaguete’s Silliman University, Foundation University and Negros Oriental State University have confirmed their attendance to the UNIGAMES

The other schools joining are Ateneo De Davao University, Adamson University, Arellano University, Central Philippine University, Centro Escolar University, Colegio de la Purisima Concepcion, Colegio de Sta. Ana de Victorias, Cor Jesu College, De la Salle-Araneta University, De La Salle College of St. Benilde, De La Salle-Lipa Batangas, De La Salle University-Dasmarinas, De La Salle University Manila, Enderun Colleges Metro Manila, Far Eastern University, Father Saturnino Urios University, Hercor College-Roxas City, Holy Angel UniversityPampanga, Holy Cross of Davao College, Ilo-ilo Doctors College, Jose Maria College Davao City, La Consolacion College Bacolod, Laguuna Colleges and University Athletic Association, Naga College Foundation, National University-Manila, Philippine State College of Aeronautics, Riverside College-Bacolod City, Rizal Technological University-Mandaluyong City, San Beda College-Manila, Southwestern University-Cebu City, St. Theresa College of Tandag Surigao del Sur, STI West Negros UniversityBacolod, Technical University of the Philippines-Manila, University of Bohol, University of Makati, University of Mindanao-Davao City, University of Mindanao-Tagum College, University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos Bacolod, University of Northern Philippines-Vigan City, University of Perpetual Help System-Las Pinas, University of San Agustin - Ilo-ilo City, University of San CarlosCebu, University of San Jose Recoletos-Cebu City, University of Santo Tomas, University of St. La Salle – Bacolod City, University of the Immaculate Conception – Davao City, University of the Philippines–Dilliman, University of the Visayas-Cebu, VMA Global College-Bacolod City and Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan.

On the eve of the games actual opening, school presidents and heads of delegations will meet with Governor Roel Degamo and Mayor Remollo in a fellowship dinner.

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...