Degamo “wins” proxy PCL war

Lured by the slogan “we are one,” majority of the 231 municipal and city councilors elected their neophyte colleague from Siaton Miguel Dungog as President of the Philippine Councilors League of Negros Oriental, defeating incumbent Chester Lim of Jimalalud, Monday (August 22).

The race to the presidency of the provincial councilors league, was largely seen by many as a proxy war between Governor Roel Degamo and allied mayors who backed Dungog against the LP Leadership of Cong Josy Limkaichong, and Vice- Governor Mark Macias who supported the incumbent Lim.

PCL Presidents sit as ex-officio members of the SP, the bottom line in winning the PCL presidency is to gain an ally in the Sangguniang Panlalawigan who could help advance the legislative agenda of the feuding political alliances: PDPLaban- United Nationalist Alliance and Nationalist People’s Coalition-Liberal Party.

The whole day PCL event concluded with the proclamation of Dungog as President after garnering 119 votes to Lim’s 91 and Ramon’s 24 votes.

Dungog’s allies swept all other elected positions of the PCL, namely: Mark Fidencio Aurelia of Bayawan City, Vice-President; Anna Jay Mariot of San Jose, Secr etary-General; Jimalalud’s Delia Estrellanes, Treasurer; Tanjay’s Daryl Aba, Auditor and Dumaguete’s Estanislao Alviola, Business Manager.

Elected to the Board of Directors: Harold Calingacion (Sibulan); Gerryl Opada (Ayungon); Gerard Napigkit (Sta. Catalina); Curt Lance Maturan (Valencia); Nelie Gabas (Basay); George Duran (Pamplona); Fructuoso Sindiong Jr. (Dauin) and Mea Rio (San Jose).

Dungog acknowledged the cohesiveness and loyalty of all his supporters coming from different political parties that gave life to the campaign’s slogan to secure the victory. He also thanked Degamo, who stayed throughout the day and left only after the proclamation, for his consistent support.

Chester Lim also took his loss with dignity declaring that in every election, there will be winners and losers. He congratulated Dungog, whom he considers a friend, for his well earned victory via an “honest and clean election.”

Ramon was pleased to learn that she managed to get a significant number of votes, including the majority of the Dumaguete City councilors who crossed party lines to support her. Without Ramon, Lim could have won by a close swing vote.

With Dungog’s elevation to the SP and Lim’s exit, the Governor adds another sympathetic voice to the deliberative body whose majority has been in conflict with the policy and fiscal directions of the administration.

Meanwhile, the League of Municipalities elected Ayungon Mayor Edsel Enardecido, another Degamo ally, as President, who shall sit as member of the Executive Committee of the Provincial Development Council. Bindoy Mayor Valente Yap was elected Vice-President.

Some anti-Degamo mayors reportedly wanted Mabinay Mayor Ernie Uy to contest the presidency, but he failed to be physically present to be even considered for nomination. (By Dems Demecillo)

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...